Speakers and Panels.

Speakers in Conversation
Yuval Noah Harari
Historian, philosopher, and bestselling author
Vanessa Nakate
Climate activist from Uganda

Professor Yuval Noah Harari is a historian, philosopher, and the bestselling author of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow, 21 Lessons for the 21st Century, and Sapiens: A Graphic History. His books have sold over 35 Million copies in 65 languages, and he is considered one of the world’s most influential public intellectuals today. It is a New York Times top 10 bestseller, and held positions #1-#3 on the Sunday Times’ bestseller list for 96 consecutive weeks. 
Born in Israel in 1976, Harari received his PhD from the University of Oxford in 2002, and is currently a lecturer at the Department of History in the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Moreover, Harari is a two-time winner of the Polonsky Prize for Creativity and Originality, which he was awarded in 2012 and 2009, amongst other notable awards.

Vanessa Nakate is a climate activist from Uganda and founder of the Africa-based Rise Up Movement. She began striking for the climate in her home town of Kampala in January 2019, after witnessing droughts and flooding devastating communities in Uganda. Vanessa also runs a project to install solar panels and eco-friendly stoves in schools in rural communities. In 2020, she was named one of the BBC's 100 Women of the year, as well as one of the 100 most influential young Africans.

JMB_HIGH RES. (1).jpg
José Manuel Barroso
Former President of the European Commission

José Manuel Barroso served as Prime Minister of Portugal from 2002–2004 and as President of the European Commission from 2004-2014, accepting the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the European Union in 2012. He is currently non-executive Chairman of Goldman Sachs International and GAVI's Board Chair. 

       Beatrice Fihn
Executive Director the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

Beatrice Fihn is the Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons. Together with Hiroshima survivor, Setsuko Thurlow, she accepted the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize for ICAN.

8099718701_d0d6037d87_b (1).jpeg
       Nadia Calviño
First Deputy Prime Minister of Spain

The First Deputy Prime Minister of Spain since July 2021 and as Minister of Economy since 2018 under prime minister Pedro Sánchez.

        Irina Bokova
Former Director-General of UNESCO

A Bulgarian politician and the former Director-General of UNESCO. Amongst other political roles she served as the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Foreign Affairs ad interim under Prime Minister Zhan Videnov.

106551416-1590473102117gettyimages-910495672 (1).jpeg
François Villeroy de Galhau
Governor of the Bank of France

François Villeroy de Galhau has been Governor of the Bank of France since 2015. Previously, he was Chief Operating Officer of BNP Paribas group, in charge of domestic markets and corporate social responsibility.

Hansen high res.jpg
   Lars Peter Hansen
David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor of economics at the University of Chicago

Professor Hansen is the recipient of the 2013 Nobel Memorial Prize for Economic Sciences for the "empirical analysis of asset prices" alongside Robert Shiller and Eugene Fama.

Richard Blundell
David Ricardo Professor of Political Economy at the Department of Economics of University College London

Professor Sir Richard Blundell is one of the top 20 most cited economists in the world and former chair of the European Economic Association.

Barry Schwartz
American psychologist and the Dorwin Cartwright Professor of Social Theory and Social Action at Swarthmore College

His work focuses on the intersection of psychology and economics. He frequently publishes editorials in The New York Times, applying his research in psychology to current events.